Grad School Memories: Part One

As we prepare to dive into a new semester, let’s take a look at what some of the faculty of the English Department have to say about their grad school experiences:

cropped-img_2603.jpg

Dr. Vic Malo
1. What was your best grad school experience?

Going to conferences to present. My first assignment in my first graduate course was to write a proposal for the NCTE conference. I only had a week to complete it and submit it. It was accepted and I went to my first national conference and fell in love with the intellectual community a national organization fosters. I still love going to conferences for that reason.

2. What was your worst grad school experience?

I had a course with a world famous professor in his field, literally, the number one name in the field. Unfortunately, this person was the worst teacher. I always keep what he did wrong in mind when I design my graduate courses. So maybe, in a way, I learned a lot from him, just not what the course was intended to teach.

3. What was the place outside of your home/apartment where you spent the
most time?

My classroom where I taught middle school. I worked full time teaching 8th grade while I got my masters and doctorate. If you would like to see it, it is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmBQhvXKZsA

4. What text/book did you read in grad school that you never want to
encounter again?

I don’t really have one. My degree is from a college of education so I read texts very different from those found in English programs, but I always tried to find something of value in a text, or at least critically analyze why the text was lacking. I think sometimes you can often learn more from something you don’t like than something you do.

5. What was your grad school comfort food? Sushi.

Dr. Tiffany Gilbert    
1. What was your best grad school experience?
Studying for and passing PhD oral exams. A rich intellectual experience. Met many literary “friends.”

2. What was your worst grad school experience?

Leaving UVA/Charlottesville

3. What was the place outside of your home/apartment where you spent the most time?

Starbucks

4. What text/book did you read in grad school that you never want to
encounter again?

Ulysses

5. What was your grad school comfort food?

Smoked turkey sandwich on whole wheat with cucumbers, Havarti cheese, and house dressing from “Take It Away” deli in Charlottesville, a spinoff of the ever-popular “The Cheese Shop” in Williamsburg, VA.

Dr. Colleen Reilly
1. What was your best grad school experience?

During my MA, the highlight was joining the technical writing staff and learning to teach with computers.

2. What was your worst grad school experience?

Taking my MA exams.

2. What was the place outside of your home/apartment where you spent the most time?

The Flying Tomato Pizza restaurant

3. What text/book did you read in grad school that you never want to encounter again?

Of Grammatology

4. What was your grad school comfort food?

Saganaki from the Parethnon. I splurged on it every Friday.

 

Leave a Reply

