Grad School Memories: Part Two

More memories from people Keeping Morton Weird™

cropped-img_2561.jpg

Dr. Nicholas Laudadio
1.What was your best grad school experience?
I’d say it was running a small letter press, performing at and attending readings/shows/art openings/hybrid functions, and running into Bob Creeley in the Clemens Hall elevator.
2.What was your worst grad school experience?
Coming to terms with the tremendous gulf that existed between what UB grad students “needed to know” and what my undergraduate experience taught me.
3.What was the place outside of your home/apartment where you spent the most time?
Bike store? Salvation Army? AmVets?
4.What text/book did you read in grad school that you never want to encounter again?
“The Banking Concept of Education”
5.What was your grad school comfort food?
Cajun meatloaf sandwich at the Rendezvous.
Dr. Lance Cummings
1. I had a lot of great experiences as a grad student, but at the top of my list is probably my two years as Assistant Director of Composition. Since I had already taught a lot, this position gave me the opportunity to share my experience with new TAs, while also providing opportunities to do interdepartmental work with writing instruction.
2. My worst experience, perhaps, is being encouraged to submit a paper to journal, than getting rejected. Being rejected is fine, but the comments were completely not useful. They were bullet points of comments that either didn’t make sense or were irrelevant.
3. I didn’t spend a significant time outside of my department or home. Maybe the wine tastings at our local grocery store :-).
4. I have no hard feelings against any of the texts. In fact, they all fit into my course plan quite well.
5. Beer and popcorn
Dr. Mark Boren
1.What was your best grad school experience?
Inappropriate to list in this forum.
2.What was your worst grad school experience?
Margaret Dickey.
3.What was the place outside of your home/apartment where you spent the most time?
Georgia woods.
4.What text/book did you read in grad school that you never want to encounter again?
Repressed it. Don’t want to remember.
5.What was your grad school comfort food?
Wild Turkey.
Dr. Jeremy Tirrell
1.What was your best grad school experience?
2.What was your worst grad school experience?
These are probably both the same thing: finishing. It can be daunting to know what to do next unless you’ve been slotted for a Ph.D. program or academic job. I think it would be great if grad school prepared students for options other than continuing their studies or teaching. (That’s a general statement and not specific to our program.)
3.What was the place outside of your home/apartment where you spent the most time?
My computer lab at school
4.What text/book did you read in grad school that you never want to encounter again?
I can’t really recall one. I suppose some of the theoretical texts we cumbersome. However, this prompt reminds me of the old chestnut about the English professor who gave a two-question final. The first question was: “What was your least favorite text in this course?” The second question was: “What flaw in you does that reveal?”
5.What was your grad school comfort food?
I’ve never really found much comfort in food: ibuprofen, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

